Five Windsor-Essex communities inaugurate new councils Tuesday

Municipal elections are a thing of the past, and now the winner will go into office.

The city of Windsor and four other cities in the region will hold their first council meeting on Tuesday. The new and re-elected mayor will deliver an inaugural address and new councilors will be sworn in.

Voters made their choice on October 24, and the results were quickly certified.


Mayor Drew Dilkens will deliver his vision for the next four years at the Capitol Theater in central Windsor on Tuesday night. Doors open at 6:30pm, meeting starts at 7pm. The public is invited to attend.

Dilkens is serving a third four-year term. The seven current members of the city council will be re-sworn in, but there will be three new members. Renaldo Agostino will replace Rino Bortolin in the Ward 3 seat. Mark McKenzie will be sworn in as District 4, succeeding Chris Holt, and Angelo Marignani will be in District 7.

A programme by the Windsor Symphony Youth Orchestra, an Aboriginal welcome ceremony and a poetry reading by Marty Gervais were arranged as part of the programme.


The Town of Kingsville will be sworn in as a new Mayor and Council at the Grovedale Arts and Cultural Center on Park Street at 6pm on Tuesday evening.

Dennis Rogers will succeed the late Nelson Santos for the first time in 19 years with a new mayor. Kimberly DeYong rises from councilor to deputy mayor, succeeding Gord Queen.

At-Large MPs Tony Gaffan, Thomas Neufeld and Larry Patterson will begin their new terms. New council members Debbie Jarvis-Shaws and Shirley Lowry will be seated.

Rogers will deliver his inaugural address after each MP is sworn in.

lake shore

The City of Lakeshore’s inaugural council meeting is scheduled to begin at 7pm in the Renaud Room at the Atlas Tube Recreation Center.

Tracey Bailey will succeed Tom Bain as mayor, a position Bain has held since 2006. Former District 5 councilor Kirk Walstedt will succeed Bailey as deputy mayor.

Current MPs John Kerr and Kelsey Santarossa will start their next terms. The city council will have four new faces. Ryan McNamara will take the seat in District 1 and Paddy Byrne will take over in District 2. In District 5, Ian Rushton will be Walstedt’s successor, while Larissa Vogler will move to the District 6 seat.


Leamington’s new council will hold an inaugural meeting at 6pm in the council chamber.

Hilda MacDonald will receive her second Mayor’s Medal and will communicate her vision for Leamington over the next four years. Larry Verbeke will begin his new term as Deputy Mayor.

The At-Large Committee will have a new member, Anthony Abraham, who will join the Committee. Current MPs Bill Dunn, Paul Tiessen and Tim Wilkinson will start a new term, while Heather Latam, who was appointed after Trevor Jones was elected Chatham-Kent-Leamington MPP, will start her own term.


The first Tecumseh meeting of the new term will be at the Ciociaro Club in Oldcastle at 7pm.

Mayor Gary McNamara and Deputy Mayor Joe Bacchetti both received credit for the election. McNamara has been in the chain of mayors since 2003, making him Windsor-Essex’s longest-serving active mayor.

Two MPs will be sworn in for the first time. Alicia Higgison is the new Ward 1 MP, succeeding Andrew Dowie. Canadian Forces veteran James Dorner succeeds outgoing Bill Altenhof in the District 2 seat.

Currents Rick Tonial, Brian Houston and Tania Jobin will reinstate.

Essex Town will hold its first council meeting on 21 November, with LaSalle the following evening. Amherstburg will meet on November 28th. All three mayors will involve the new mayor.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *