APC wins 23 seats, SDP two, as INEC declares one constituency inconclusive –

‘Yomi Ayeleso – Ado-Ekiti

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) announced the results of the House of Representatives elections for all 26 state constituencies in Ekiti state on Saturday.

The ruling All Progressive Congress (APC) won 23 seats and the Social Democratic Party (SDP) two seats, according to official results released by Tope Akanmu, INEC’s head of voter education and advocacy, and provided to the Nigerian Tribune. In contrast, the remaining seats were declared inconclusive.

He explained that the election in the Ido-Osi constituency 1 could not produce a clear winner due to the principle of lead, which was applied after voting at some polling stations was disrupted by violence.

This is because the preponderance of the lead principle suggests that supplementary elections need to be held in the three voting groups before a clear winner emerges. This was due to the violent disruption of the voting process in the three voting units PU 003, PU 012 and PU 014 Yes, these voting units are located in registration area (constituency) 01,” he said.

Supplementary polls will be conducted at the affected polling stations later, to be decided by the committee, he added.

While the election process was generally peaceful, the statement noted that Resident Election Commissioner Professor Ayobami Salami commended stakeholders, especially traditional rulers, for successfully conducting polls in the state.

The winners are Ayo Adegbite (APC) -Ado 1; Bolaji Olagbaju (APC) – Ado 2; Teju Okuyiga (APC) -Gbonyin; Yinka Olowookere (APC) -Efon; Dele Ogunsakin (SDP) – Ekiti East 1; APC) -Ekiti East 2; Kareem Agunbiade (APC) -Ekiti West 1; Johnson Bode-Adeoye (APC) – Ekiti West 2; Kehinde Adaramodu (APC) – Ekiti South West 1; Tolulope Ige (APC) -Ekiti South West 2 and Mariam Ogunlade (APC) – Emure.

Others include; Ebenezer Ayorinde (APC)-Ido/Osi 2; Martins Ojo (APC)-Ijero; Babatunde Oke (APC)-Ikere 1; Lawrence Idowu (APC)-Ikere 2; Babafemi Fatunla (APC)-Ikole 1 ; Adeoye Aribasoye (APC) -Ikole 2 ; Iyabode Fakunle-Okeimen (APC) – Ilejemeje ; Femi Akindele (APC) -Irepodun/Ifelodun 1 and Hakeem Jamiu (APC) – Irepodun/Ifelodun.

The rest are; Babatunde Omotayo (SDP) – Ise/Oren; Christiana Solanke (APC) – Moba 1; Jacob Awoniyi (APC) – Moba 2; Temitope Longe (APC) – Oye 1 and Idowu Odebunmi (APC ) – Oye 2.

(function(d, s, id) {
var js, fjs = d.getElementsByTagName(s)[0];
if (d.getElementById(id)) return;
js = d.createElement(s);
js.id = id;
js.src = “//connect.facebook.net/en_US/sdk.js#xfbml=1&version=v2.5”;
fjs.parentNode.insertBefore(js, fjs);
}(document, ‘script’, ‘facebook-jssdk’));

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *